‘Dutch Masters’ from The Stolz

09 Mar 2014

Written by: Mattie Poels

Published in: Music Frames

Full Article (NL)

“The Stolz Quartet (oboe and string trio) plays music from Dutch contemporary composers. New works but also compositions arranged for them of works by Maurice Ravel, Alexander Scriabin and Franz Liszt. The result is an excellent and balanced collection of 20th century music.[…]Composer Theo Verbey arranged four short piano preludes written by Scriabin and composed ’4 Preludes to Infinity’. Four compositions in which he used several compositional skills and shows the fragile sense of music.[…] It’s obvious, this quartet loves the music they play which overleaps to the listener and makes them enthusiastic as well.”